Sheriff Crisco to serve on NC Sheriff’s Education and Training Standards Commission

Stanly County Sheriff Jeff Crisco was one of four sheriffs who recently accepted new roles as commissioners on the North Carolina Sheriff’s Education and Training Standards Commission. 

Crisco was elected sheriff in 2018. This will be his first time serving on the commission. Prior to his election as sheriff, Crisco worked as a detective for the Stanly County Sheriff’s Office. 

Crisco will represent District 8, which includes Anson, Cabarrus, Hoke, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union counties. Crisco fills the seat on the commission left vacant by the unexpected passing of Sheriff Landric Reid of Anson County, who passed away in September of 2022. 

“Sheriff Crisco’s many years of law enforcement experience will make him a valuable member of the North Carolina Sheriff’s Education and Training Standards Commission,” said Orange County Sheriff Charles Blackwood, President of the North Carolina Sheriff’s Association. 

Other newly appointed sheriffs include Catawba County Sheriff Don Brown, Henderson County Sheriff Lowell Griffin, and Cabarrus County Sheriff Van Shaw. 

The commission, which was created in 1983, is made up of 17 members appointed to staggered terms. Members are responsible for making decisions related to administrative rules that govern the certification program for all justice officers in sheriff’s offices. Justice officers include deputy sheriffs, detention officers, and telecommunicators.  

The commission is also responsible for determining whether new or current justice officers should be allowed to receive or keep their law enforcement officer certificates. Caldwell County Sheriff Alan Jones currently serves as the chairman of the commission.  

For additional information, please contact Eddie Caldwell, Executive Vice President and General Counsel of the North Carolina Sheriff’s Association, at (919) 459-1052 or [email protected]