Turnout numbers for Stanly County voters exceed state average

(AP Photo/Ted Shaffrey)

STANLY COUNTY — Over half of registered voters living in Stanly County voted in the 2022 midterm elections, coalescing into a large Election Day turnout last week. 

With all 22 precincts reporting, 53.6% (23,494 out of 43,799) of registered voters in the county made their voices heard in the ballot box, exceeding the averages of 47.3% in North Carolina and 46% nationally. 

Prior to Election Day, Stanly County elections director Kimberly Blackwelder told SCJ her aspiration for Stanly County’s final numbers: “I hope we will have at least a 45% turnout and even a 50% turnout, but we’ll have to wait and see.” 

The biggest draw to the polls locally belonged to North Carolina’s U.S. Senate race between three-term U.S. Rep. Ted Budd and Democratic nominee Cheri Beasley.  

Budd was the winner with 50.7% of the votes statewide — topping Beasley’s 47.2% — and recorded 76% of the votes among Stanly County ballots. He will join fellow Republican Tom Tillis in the U.S. Senate, succeeding the retiring Richard Burr. 

Serving Stanly County in the redrawn 8th Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Dan Bishop won reelection over Democratic candidate Scott Huffman in a landslide with 70.1% of the vote. Bishop garnered 78.7% of the votes among Stanly County voters.  

“We won! Thank you to the amazing people of NC-08. I’m humbled by your support and looking forward to representing you,” Bishop wrote in a social media post following his campaign victory. 

The Charlotte native has represented the 9th Congressional District since 2019 but switched to the 8th District after a court-mandated redraw of the state’s congressional map. 

Representing Stanly County and N.C. District 33, incumbent Republican State Sen. Carl Ford handedly defeated Democratic challenger Tangela “Lucy Horn” Morgan. The China Grove resident picked up 78.4% of the ballots among county voters and received 73% of the vote among the entire district.  

Previously, Ford served three terms in the state house, representing the 76th District. 

With 81.3% of the vote, Republican incumbent Jeff Crisco won reelection as Stanly County’s sheriff over Democratic contender Davara Pounds — a role that he has served since 2018. 

Meanwhile, Republican Ginger Efird won the Stanly County Clerk of Superior Court’s race over Democratic contender Todd H. Lowder with 78.6% of the vote. Efird was previously an administrative assistant to the District Attorney of Prosecutorial District 28. 

Many Republicans on Stanly County’s ballots ran and won their seats unopposed, most notably Wayne Sasser of the N.C. House 67th District.  

Unopposed Republican winners also include Patty Crump (Board of Commissioners At-Large), Mike Barbee (Board of Commissioners District 1), Bill Lawhon (Board of Commissioners District 2), Brandon King (Board of Commissioners District 3), Trent Hatley (Board of Commissioners District 4), Robin B. Whittaker (Board of Education At-Large), and Dustin Lisk (Board of Education District 1). 

Republicans T. Lynn Clodfelter (District Attorney for District 28), Phillip Cornett (NC District Court Judge District 20A Seat 01), John R. Nance (NC District Court Judge District 20A Seat 02), and Thai Vang (NC District Court Judge District 20A Seat 03) each ran unopposed as well.