Candidates set for ’24 Stanly County elections

The primary is scheduled for March 5

ALBEMARLE — The candidate filing period for the 2024 elections concluded this past Friday, solidifying the roster of candidates for offices in Stanly County.

The primary, set for March 5, 2024, will precede the general election on November 5. It will include races with at least two candidates from the same party.

Rep. Wayne Sasser (R) announced last month that he would not seek reelection for the District 67 seat in the North Carolina House of Representatives. Sasser, 73, in the middle of his third term, has been serving since January 1, 2019, after being initially elected in 2018. He represents Stanly and Montgomery Counties.

In the race for Sasser’s seat, Republicans Cody Huneycutt of Oakboro and Brandon King of Albemarle will face off in March. The winner will compete against Democrat Daniel Quick of Badin. Sasser has endorsed Huneycutt, stating, “Since I will not be seeking reelection, I am excited to openly endorse Cody Huneycutt in filling my position. Cody is a lifelong resident of Stanly County and has worked alongside me for the last four years of my tenure as my policy advisor. He has worked in the North Carolina General Assembly for nearly a decade on a variety of policy committees and has the experience needed to best serve our district.”

In a repeat of the 2022 election for the N.C. Senate’s District 33 seat, covering Stanly and Rowan Counties, Republican incumbent Sen. Carl Ford of China Grove will compete against Democrat Tangela “Lucy Horne” Morgan of China Grove. Ford previously won with 73.3% of the vote.

For the Stanly County Board of Commissioners’ At-Large race, incumbent Republican Scott Efird of Locust and Levi Greene of Stanfield will run against Libertarian Melvin Poole of Oakboro.

In the commissioners’ District 5 race, GOP candidates Peter Asciutto, the incumbent, and Billy Dean Mills, both from Albemarle, will contend.

The Stanly County Board of Education At-Large race includes Republicans Rufus Lefler, the incumbent, from Albemarle, and Meghan Almond from Stanfield.

Four Republican incumbents are unopposed for their school board seats: Bill Sorenson (District 2), Glenda Gibson (District 3), Vicky Watson (District 4), and Carla Poplin (District 5).

The GOP race for Stanly County Register of Deeds includes Jennie Helms, the incumbent from New London, George Burris from Albemarle, and Misty Enoch from New London. Republican Adam M. Elkins of Albemarle is running for NC Superior Court Judge District 28 Seat 1.

Unaffiliated candidates must file a petition with the Stanly County Board of Elections by noon on March 5 to seek partisan office.